Skip to Main Content

Christopher Mies puts Audi on pole for Nürburgring 1000

20 September 2014

The Qualifying Session for the final round of the 2014 Blancpain Endurance Series was decided halfway through Q2, just before a rain shower made it impossible to improve the lap times. At the start of Q2 it was Christopher Mies in the #1 Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi who set the fastest time of the session, in 1’55.708. Mies was transferred to the #1 Audi before the start of the weekend, and now has Cesar Ramos and Pro Cup points leader Laurens Vanthoor as his team-mates. The German was quickly followed by his countrymen Marc Basseng and Marco Seefried, in the #3 Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi and #52 AF Corse Ferrari respectively. Seefried, who shares the car with Pro-Am Cup championship contender Francesco Castellacci, also set pole in Pro-Am Cup.

Steven Kane’s time in Q1 was enough to put the #7 M-Sport Bentley on the second row as well, while the third row will be occupied by the #99 ART Grand Prix McLaren and the #8 M-Sport Bentley.

Alexander Matschull, driving the #458 GT Corse by Rinaldi Ferrari, took pole in the Gentlemen Trophy. Matschull, together with team-mate Frank Schmickler, is going for a fourth win of the season, which could also give him the Gentlemen Trophy’s title. 

Full qualifying report will follow.