Skip to Main Content

Star studded line-up for Nissan at Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour

18 January 2017

Nissan will enter the 2017 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour with a star-studded driver line-up. Among them former winners Katsumasa Chiyo and Florian Strauss and former Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup champion Alex Buncombe.

Entering the classic GT endurance race with two cars, Nissan has selected 2015 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour winner Katsumasa Chiyo, experienced Alex Buncombe and local gun Michael Caruso to drive the #23 Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3, while fellow 2015 race winner Florian Strauss will be joined by Bathurst rookies Jann Mardenborough and Todd Kelly.

Katsumasa Chiyo: “I’m really looking forward to having a crack at the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour again this year with my Australian family, Team Kelly and Team RJN. I have strong team-mates. It’s like a dream team. I’m always excited when I hear about Bathurst. It is such an amazing track, awesome fans with amazing history. In 2015, we achieved winning the race after a dramatic finish. Last year, we tried to defend the title, but we were beaten by the McLaren. This year, I think our mission is simple – win back the trophy for the Nissan GT-R.”