Skip to Main Content

News flash : Chiyo, Reip, Buncombe take 2015 Blancpain Endurance drivers title

20 September 2015

After what was arguably the most exciting race of the season Katsumasa Chiyo, Wolfgang Reip and Alex Buncombe took the 2015 Blancpain Endurance Series drivers title. The trio of the #23 Nissan GT Academy Team RJN GT-R crossed the finish line of the season finale at the Nürburgring in third, which gave them a three-point lead in the final standings of the season. The win at the Nürburgring went to the #58 Von Ryan Racing McLaren, after having started from 24th. Bentley Boys Andy Meyrick, Guy Smith and Steven Kane finished in second, which gave them second in the championship as well. Fourth for the #1 Audi was enough for Belgian Audi Club Team WRT to take the teams title in Pro Cup.

In Pro-Am Cup the win went to one of the stalwarts of the Blancpain Endurance Series, the #14 Emil Frey Racing Jaguar, much to the joy of the Swiss team. The #16 Akka ASP Ferrari took the win in Am Cup, thus taking the teams title in the Am Cup. A fifth for the #24 Team Parker Racing Audi of Ian Loggie and Julian Westwood was enough to give them the drivers title.

Full race release to follow