Skip to Main Content

News flash : Frijns and Vanthoor back to their winning ways

6 September 2015

Series leaders Laurens Vanthoor and Robin Frijns have taken the win in the Main Race of the Algarve round of the Blancpain Sprint Series. It's the Belgian-Dutch duo third Main Race win of the season. In second, Markus Winkelhock and Niki Mayr-Melnhof scored their best result since the start of their collaboration in the Blancpain Sprint Series, while the #333 Rinaldi Racing Ferrari of Marco Seefried and Norbert Siedler managed to hold of the #84 Bentley Team HTP Continental to take third. The Bentley was leading during the first half of the race, but a safety car intervention just before the pit window opened and a messy pitstop let the Bentley drop to fourth. In Pro-Am Cup the duel between the GT Russian Mercedes ended in favour of Marko Asmer and Alexey Vasilyev. 

Full race report to follow.