Blancpain GT Series stars triumph at Daytona as Grasser Racing takes second successive victory

28 January 2019

Blancpain GT Series squad Grasser Racing secured its second successive 24 Hours of Daytona victory on Sunday, triumphing in a rain-shortened race at the Florida venue.

The driving talent aboard the #11 Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo was led by 2017 Blancpain GT Series champions Mirko Bortolotti and Christian Engelhart, who delivered mature performances in challenging conditions to recapture GT Daytona class honours. They were joined by Rik Breukers and Rolf Ineichen, both of whom contested Blancpain GT Series events during the 2018 campaign.

Second place in GTD also went to a pair of well-known Blancpain GT Series competitors, with Christopher Mies and Dries Vanthoor leading the #29 Montaplast by Land crew to runner-up spot. The Audi Sport drivers – who shared the #1 Belgian Audi Club Team WRT machine during the 2018 Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup campaign – were joined at Daytona by Ricardo Feller and Daniel Morad.

In the GTLM class, there was further success for reigning Total 24 Hours of Spa winner Philipp Eng. The Austrian took victory aboard the #25 BMW, adding more silveware to the victories he secured in the Belgian Ardennes last summer and in 2016.

Many of the drivers who contested Daytona will now head straight for Australia to compete at the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour, the opening round of the 2019 Intercontinental GT Challenge Powered by Pirelli.