2013 Champions crowned at Nurburgring

2013 Champions crowned at Nurburgring

New champions were crowned at the conclusion of a fantastic season of Blancpain Endurance Series racing at Nürburgring this evening after a dramatic and eventful Blancpain 1000 six-hour race.

Taking the Pro Cup drivers title was Maximilian Buhk, who along with HTP Motorsport team mates – Bernd Schneider and Maximilian Götz took victory in the final event of the 2013 season. A late-race brake pad change for the Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 ensured that fellow title rivals - the #3 Marc VDS Racing Team of Leinders/Martin and Buurman took the lead, forcing Buhk to execute a sensational overtaking move on Maxime Martin for the title in a thrilling finale.

The HTP Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 had previously not been challenged in the race but finished 18.2 seconds ahead of the #3 Marc VDS Racing Team BMW Z4 to take enough points to claim the drivers title for Buhk. Taking the Pro Cup team championship silverware was the Marc VDS Racing Team. They out-scored the Belgian Audi Club Team WRT team today to be crowned 2013 team champions.

Rounding out the podium at the Blancpain 1000 was the ART Grand Prix entered McLaren MP4-12C driven by Andy Soucek/Mike Parisy and Antoince Leclerc.

Lucas Ordonez won the Pro Am drivers championship despite a tough race at Nürburgring today. The original winner of the GT Academy initiative finished 8th in the Pro-Am class, along with team mates Wolfgang Reip and Peter Pyzera but it was good enough to seal the title. It was a double celebration for the Nissan GT Academy Team RJN squad as they were also confirmed as team champions today.

Winning the Pro-Am category at the Blancpain 1000 was the all-Russian #71 SMP Racing Ferrari of Alexander Skryabin/Kiril Ladygin and his younger brother Anton Ladygin. Their Ferrari 458 Italia converted pole position in to a convincing victory ahead of the second placed ROAL BMW Z4 of Michela Cerruti and Stefano Comandini.

The Gentlemen Trophy class was won at Nürburgring by the Sport Garage Ferrari 458 Italia entry with Venezualan racer Justino Azcarate and French duo Eric Cayrolle and Bruce Lorgere Roux taking maximum points.

The SOFREV-ASP Ferrari 458 Italia team had already been confirmed as team champions at Spa in July and their drivers – Jean-Luc Beaubelique/Jean-Luc Blanchemain and Patrice Gouselard clinched the driver’s titles.

Full report to follow