Skip to Main Content

Team WRT and Vanthoor recognised with top RACB awards

6 January 2022

Team WRT and Dries Vanthoor have been recognised for their outstanding performances in 2021 with top prizes at the RACB Awards. 

Presented annually by the Royal Automobile Club de Belgique, the honours are voted for by a jury of journalists. WRT was named 'team of the year' following a stunning campaign that included a clean sweep of Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Powered by AWS teams' titles, as well as fresh success in prototype racing.

This represents the seventh time that WRT has won the 'team of the year' award since it was established in 2009. The team also came within minutes of capturing a famous win at the TotalEnergies 24 Hours of Spa thanks to an inspired tyre call during the latter stages.

Vanthoor was instrumental in securing WRT's success in Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Powered by AWS and collected drivers' titles in the Sprint Cup and combined classification alongside teammate Charles Weerts. Now firmly established on the international stage, the 23-year-old produced a number of superb showings in 2021.   

Previous winners of the drivers' award include WRC star Thierry Neuville and single-seater ace Stoffel Vandoorne, the former finishing as runner-up to Vanthoor this year. Weerts was also part of the final selection and ultimately finished in fifth place. 

"All this wouldn’t have been possible without the competence, hard work and commitment of Team WRT’s people, and I mean every single person involved in any capacity," commented team boss Vincent Vosse. "They all gave their best and strived to improve and innovate. I also want to thank all our partners, suppliers and sponsors, who share the same mindset. And, clearly, Weerts Group, of which we are an integral part, has always supported our dreams and our growth."

Team WRT is the most successful entrant in Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Powered by AWS history, with a remarkable 28 overall teams' and drivers' titles to its name.