Am Cup standout Barwell Motorsport confirms crew to defend class title and Total 24 Hours of Spa victory

9 April 2019

Barwell Motorsport has confirmed its Am Cup line-up for this year's Total 24 Hours of Spa, with three of the drivers that led the squad to class victory in 2018 set to return.

The #77 Barwell-Lamborghini took a dominant win at last year's event, leading the vast majority of the race and ultimately triumphing by more than four laps. The result also set the British outfit up to clinch the Endurance Cup teams' and drivers' titles, capping a stellar year for the #77 crew.

Having established a winning formula, Barwell will field a largely unchanged line-up this term as it upgrades to the new Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO. For its full-season assault, reigning class champions Adrian Amstutz and Leo Machitski will be joined by experienced Portuguese racer Miguel Ramos, who switches to Barwell following a Pro-Am campaign with the Daiko Lazarus squad.

For the Total 24 Hours of Spa, where one Silver-graded driver is permitted to join each Am Cup crew, Barwell will once again add Patrick Kujala to its line-up. The 22-year-old Finn performed excellently in the same role last term and will look to secure back-to-back successes this summer.

Barwell Motorsport is one of 10 Am Cup entrants preparing to open the Blancpain GT Series at Monza this weekend (13/14 April). The reigning class champions took podiums at the 2018 season opener and at Circuit Paul Ricard, before their dominant Spa victory set them on the path to the class title. They sealed the championship in style, triumphing once again at the Barcelona finale.