SRO Motorsports Group ready to end 2018 in style as annual awards ceremony heads for London

23 November 2018

The star performers of the 2018 racing season will be celebrated in London this weekend when the annual SRO Motorsports Group awards ceremony takes place at Old Billingsgate Grand Hall. 

Situated at the heart of the city, overlooking the River Thames, the Grade II listed building will provide a suitably impressive venue for this year’s most successful competitors to receive their trophies.

Champions from across the spectrum of SRO series will be recognised at the event, including the overall Blancpain GT Series drivers’ champion Raffaele Marciello and the AKKA ASP squad, which clinched the overall teams’ title with its Mercedes-AMG. They will be joined by champions from across the classes and covering the overall, Endurance Cup and Sprint Cup standings. 

The annual Sean Edwards Trophy will be presented to a driver under the age of 21 in memory of the 2006 FIA GT3 European Champion. The outstanding young talent will be chosen by the late racer’s mother Daphne McKinley and will receive the coveted Lalique Trophy and 20 sets of Pirelli tyres for the 2019 season.

What’s more, the TM Performance Pit Stop Challenge will recognise the crew that performed the fastest pit stops during the 2018 Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup, a vital skill in the short-distance category. 

As well as this year’s champions, teams, drivers and personnel from a range of SRO series will descend on London to celebrate a successful season of GT racing and usher in the winter break. As ever, it promises to provide a fitting end to an action-packed year.